To be Canadian | GTAMotorcycle.com

To be Canadian

bigpoppa

Iv been thinking about this for sometime, and although I am no expert on Canada, I have a definition of what it means to be Canadian.

If all your friends are from the same part of the world, you’re not Canadian.

If you have friends or roll with people from every possible background, you’re officially Canadian, blending into the fabric of Canada.

I know many people , some who came here both recently and many decades ago, who live in their enclaves and bubbles, never venture outside of it.

If they Asian all their friends are other asians from the same or neighbouring countries, Latinos that hang out with other Latinos only, etc

Indian people who moved here, they live in Brampton, and in their free time go to temple, did they ever actually leave India?

Far be it for me to be the decider, but anyone who is friends with everyone or who has a wide social
Circle is actually Canadian. The rest are still stuck in the motherland.

I have a buddy, son of europeon immigrants, that is forever complaining about the damn immigrants coming here and not adopting Canadian "Culture"
Whenever i ask him he to define Canadian "Culture"... he can't come up with an answer, doesn't even try... for 45 years so far.
Canada is too big and too diverse to have a cohesive "culture"... I think
Canada history is kinda different... usually world powers go to war over land and resources. When Canada was first formed, our biggest resource/export was beaver pelts and the two occupying armies, the French and the British, said "screw this, not worth the effort"... we can live next door to each other, you french guys stay over there, us brits will stay over here... this can work... and Canada grew from there
Sorta unique, a country formed in surrender, no victory involved... compromise and cooperate: That's us, to a fault

Winter must be coming ...

A Canadian winter must be coming...

Last edited: