This season has been terrible for motorcyclists | GTAMotorcycle.com

This season has been terrible for motorcyclists

hymnz

This has been my observation all around staring March. The traffic is worse that last year when I started riding in Canada.

Time and again I have dealt with tailgaters. Just the other day a pickup truck was trying to overtake me and even entered space while I was on a ramp at Hurontario getting onto 401. People cannot anticipate the distance in front or rear of them and start speeding/braking erratically. Changing lanes without signals at the last moment. I've "seen it all" in India but still I had a jump scare a few times because someone was in a hurry or on their phones. I was once standing right beside a car at the signal and the old man in it came into my almost immediately as the traffic started moving.

Adding to it are all the posts in the fallen riders thread. This is a really sad, depressing and scary season all over.

While I've seen some more "interesting" driving behaviour lately, it's nothing that causes me any more concern now than when I first started riding. With good situational awareness and strategic positioning, nothing they do should surprise you (short of an oncoming car in your lane around a blind corner). Any other time I've been taken by surprise, I realized I wasn't paying attention.

As a ride, I don't notice any differences in driving the GTA year over year - it's about as scary as it gets in North America - has been for 20+ years.

I have noticed more MC riders behaving badly. At 10:30this morning I was crawling westbound on the 401 at the 427, a bagger passed me at full tilt, he was running the right shoulder of the 401. Tonight I saw Valentino Rossi heading south on the 404, he passed me at about 200+ on a red SS.

This year Ive seen really bad motorcycling at least once a week.