Universal Tachometer/Speedometer? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Universal Tachometer/Speedometer?

architect

Site Supporter
Anyone have experience with these cheap aftermarket tachometer/speedometers like below, or alternative recommendations? In particular, any insight on adding this relatively modern sportbikes? I'm making my '09 ZX6R into a naked ride so deleting the RAM/fairing stay along with OEM speedometer as it's really bulky.

If wiring these up isn't easy, then I may just run the bike without any gauges. Thanks.

1717116591156.png1717116730784.png

IMO, the wiring isn't that difficult, the issue is the accuracy of the speedo and tach. Every bike is different and one person's experience may not reflect another's implementation.

I have some experience with the Trailtech Vapor units on dirt bikes:

752-118.jpg

There is a lot of "calibration" required to figure out the correct rpms/speed via rolling circumference of your tire and GPS comparisons.

If tach isn't important to you, then my suggestion is to go with a GPS-based unit (even just an old phone mounted on your bars running Google Maps will do) for speed, that way do away with any requirement for wiring. Waaaay more simpler. These aftermarket dashes only become useful if you wire in all the info from your bike/ECU, things like engine temp, check engine light/oil warning light, etc.

IMO, the wiring isn't that difficult, the issue is the accuracy of the speedo and tach. Every bike is different and one person's experience may not reflect another's implementation.

752-118.jpg

There is a lot of "calibration" required to figure out the correct rpms/speed via rolling circumference of your tire and GPS comparisons.