Signal turn-off button on BMW K1200s | GTAMotorcycle.com

Signal turn-off button on BMW K1200s

cruizer

Hi, I'm new to using this site. I just got a BMW K1200s only to discover the signal shut-off is on the throttle side. I find this extremely awkward as I'm trying to accelerate out of a corner, whilst fumbling for the switch. BMW changed it back to the clutch side for 2012. Am I alone on this, or have any of you BMW riders experienced the same fumbling concern.

What you have is the way BMW has ALWAYS done turn signals (there's a separate left and right switch for each side and then a single off switch). I am not a BMW owner but had to deal with this system on a rental F800ST and *hated* it. Having said that, you'll get used to it. It took me a couple of days to figure out how to activate the cancel button without taking my hand completely off the handlebar and actually pressing it, but it is possible. A couple days later I had myself programmed to do it. Still hated it but I could deal with it.

For at least some of BMW's new models they have finally given in and started using the same switch style that everyone else uses. I think with the S1000R they wanted to eliminate silly reasons that GSXR owners would have for not buying the bike ("Love the bike but can't stand the turn signals - they're the deal-breaker"). I don't know if they've standardized it across the board - hope so.

I had an 84 beemer and loved it.It had conventional switchgear.I test rode a few with the new style and can't say that i hated it,but i really didn't like it either.BMW's are typically overengineered as is most german machinery making them sometimes difficult and expensive to live with.They don't know the meaning of "if it aint broke...don't fix it".
I had my heart set on a RT when i was done with my 84,but i went with Honda because of the service intervals and reputation.

I just saw a 1975 BMW at the show with "conventional" turn signals.

How long is ALWAYS?